British Championships 2019 - the winners!

British Championships 2019 - the winners!

Congratulations to all of the 2018-2019 BDGA Tour Champions!

 FPO Champions
Sian Lee (3rd), Kolbrun Mist Palsdottir (1st place), Sue Underwood (2nd)

FA1 Champion

Zoë Winfield

MPO Champions


Dan Ryan (2nd), James Luton (1st place), Simon Luard (3rd)

MP40 Champions


Jester Wilson (2nd), Iain McDougall (1st place), Derek Robins (3rd)

MA40 Champions


Skanda Huggins (2nd), Gareth O'Neill (1st place), Marcus Newey (3rd)

MA2 Champions


Ed Green (2nd), Tom Lowes (1st place), Scott Rickard (3rd)

MA3 Champions


Tom Sweeting (2nd), Michael Sharkey (1st place), Josh Dyer (3rd)

MA4 Champions


Adam Mackory (2nd), Ben Cooper (1st place), Harry Messenger (3rd)

Tom Lowes BDGA Director 

British Championships 2019

Over the weekend of 17-18 August 2019, 63 disc golfers converged on the Mendip Activity Centre in Somerset for the 3rd annual British Championships event. These players had been battling all around the country on the BDGA Tour since August 2018 to secure qualification points for their chance to compete for the overall titles across eight different divisions.

In the Open division, James Luton held off the challenges of Dan Ryan and Si Luard by shooting the two hottest rounds of the weekend (51 and 52) to claim the win by three shots. In the women’s divisions, Kolbrun Mist Palsdottir won in Open by four shots and Zoe Winfield won the Amateur division. Manchester Disc Golf’s Iain McDougall was victorious in the Pro Masters division, whilst local (‘Yeti’) favourite Gareth O’Neill used his knowledge of the course to prevail in the Amateur Masters division. The Intermediate Amateur division saw the lead change hands a number of times, but Tom Lowes edged past fellow Croydon Disc Golf Club member Edd Green in a tight final. In Recreational, however, Manchester’s Michael Sharkey, playing the course for the first time, shot three consecutive 59s for a score that would have placed him joint second in the division above: an easy win! Finally, in the hotly contested Novice division another local Yeti, Ben Cooper, narrowly beat Adam Mackrory by just two shots.

It was a fantastic weekend, filled with high-tension competitive disc golf, and brilliantly hosted by Matt Cutler and the Yeti club at Mendip; we thank them wholeheartedly for the immense amount of hard work that went on behind the scenes! The 2019/20 BDGA Tour is already underway, so get competing for next year’s Championships as it is sure to be another don’t-miss event!